Start a new topic

Did I get here on a bad day or is this normal?

I'm a professional transcriptionist. I've been noticing how strange the transcripts on YouTube are. I used the Universal Demo for practice. (its not really working btw), and figured it out. I worked on http://www.amara.org/en/videos/igoJ6oN8Lhzy/info/gigi-22-i-remember-it-well/  Entering English language captions.

Of course I didn't notice that a computer or some non-English speaking translation had already captioned the English language for this video, and the video appears to be hosted on a Spanish-language site. (OY!)

When I go to YouTube, I am still seeing the Spanish language captions, and when I switch it to English, I am STILL seeing the "nonsense"-"HAL", "Hi I'm Anne in accounting"(computer-generated or non-English-speaking version)-gibberish version of the English caption.

Maybe I need to follow a team or group that speaks English, or who is working on a specific set of videos to avoid dealing with this?

I really like the work, and there certainly is A LOT of it to be done....and I have some ideas of course how I could maybe help people who are improving this project, but right now it really does appear to be a CF.

If anyone wants to reply, let me know if I should even attempt to help with this or will I just be wasting my time?

Hi Puppet Master,

I was hoping someone from Amara Staff would reply to you, but as they haven't: thank you for your post, which highlights several things that need to be explained more clearly on the Amara site itself and in the "Solutions" part of this Help: I hope they'll take your remarks into account in the next release of the software.

Attempting an informal reply:

Amara-made subtitles/captions only transfer automatically to YouTube if the YouTube channel owner has implemented the connection between his/her channel and Amara subtitles: that's why you're not seeing your Amara-made subtitles on the YouTube video.