Be extra careful if you leave your subtitling / translating dialog page open without any activity for some time. If you have been inactive on the page (i.e. made no keystrokes or mouse movements) for 5 minutes in a row, you will get a warning message:

Screen shot 2012-04-10 at 6.00.24 PM.png

Unless you click the *Nope! Get me back to subtitling!* button in the message box within 120 seconds, your session will time out. This means that the lock on the subtitle set you are working on will be lifted, opening it to the potential for another volunteer to work on it.

Below is the dialog box you will see when you have been idle beyond the 120 seconds:


Screen shot 2012-04-10 at 5.54.28 PM.png

WARNING: Never, ever close this *Try to resume work* dialog box or the browser page with a timed out session! You risk to irreparably lose all the work you have done.

If your session has timed out, you have two options to save your work:

1. You may try to regain the lock on the subtitles set by clicking *Try to resume work* button. This will get you back to subtitling where you had stopped if no other user started subtitling in the same language after your session timed out:

Screen shot 2012-04-10 at 5.54.41 PM.png

2. If your attempt to resume work has failed, you still can click [download your subtitles] in this window, and you may upload them to the video.

For future reference, to ensure your work is saved before you step away part-way through working on a video, click on [Save and Exit], found near the bottom right of the subtitling / translating page:

Screen shot 2012-04-10 at 6.04.16 PM.png